Lead Service Line Replacement Awards

In creating the Lead Service Line Replacement Program (LSLRP), the Clean Water Infrastructure Act of 2017 states that “To the extent practicable, the department shall allocate appropriated funds equitably among regions of the state.” In 2011, Governor Cuomo established 10 Regional Economic Development Councils (REDC) to provide a local focus for state investment. The LSLRP will utilize these 10 REDC Region boundaries for the purpose of allocating funds.

Municipalities to be Offered an Award

Map of awarded municipalities
REDC Region % of NY Population Awarded Municipalities Estimated Award per Municipality
Capital Region 5.50 City of Schenectady, City of Troy, City of Albany $516,565
Central NY 3.96 City of Syracuse, City of Auburn $698,134
Finger Lakes 6.14 City of Rochester, City of Geneva, Town of Lyons $538,096
Long Island 14.45 Town of Southold, Town of Hempstead, Town of North Hempstead, City of Long Beach $611,363
Mid-Hudson 11.79 City of Poughkeepsie, City of Newburgh, City of Kingston, City of Middletown $544,745
Mohawk Valley 2.47 City of Utica, City of Gloversville $623,655
New York City 43.24 New York City $5,323,904
North Country 2.15 City of Watertown, Town of Gouverneur $607,629
Southern Tier 3.26 City of Binghamton, City of Elmira $663,185
Western NY 7.02 City of Buffalo, City of Niagara Falls, City of Jamestown $567,492