

ANDREW M. CUOMO Governor HOWARD A. ZUCKER, M.D., J.D. Commissioner

SALLY DRESLIN, M.S., R.N. Executive Deputy Commissioner

May 18, 2017 -

Mr. Michael Melendez
Associate Regional Administrator
Department of Health & Human Services
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
New York Regional Office
Division of Medicaid and Children's Health Operations
26 Federal Plaza - Room 37-100
New York, New York 10278

RE: SPA #17-0048

Dear Mr. Melendez:

The State requests approval of the enclosed amendment #17-0048 to the Title XIX (Medicaid) State Plan effective June 30, 2017 (Appendix I).

A summary of the plan amendment is provided in Appendix II. Copies of pertinent sections of proposed State statute are enclosed for your information (Appendix III).

In keeping with our continued agreement, this amendment is being sent to you prior to the end of the second quarter.

If you or your staff have any questions or need further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact Regina Deyette of my staff at (518) 473-3658.

Sincerely

Jason A. Helgerson Medicaid Director

Office of Health Insurance Programs

Enclosures

TRANSMITTAL AND NOTICE OF APPROVAL OF	1 TDANICMITTAL MUMDED.	OMB NO. 0938-0
	1. TRANSMITTAL NUMBER:	2. STATE
STATE PLAN MATERIAL	17-0048	III Topayne Webba Asker
FOR WELLEY CARE THE STATE OF TH		New York
FOR: HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION	3. PROGRAM IDENTIFICATION: TI SOCIAL SECURITY ACT (MEDI	
TO DECIONAL ADMINISTRATOR		
TO: REGIONAL ADMINISTRATOR	4. PROPOSED EFFECTIVE DATE	
HEALTH CARE FINANCING ADMINISTRATION	June 30, 2017	
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES		
5. TYPE OF PLAN MATERIAL (Check One):		
□ NEW STATE PLAN □ AMENDMENT TO BE CONS		AMENDMENT
COMPLETE BLOCKS 6 THRU 10 IF THIS IS AN AMEND		
6. FEDERAL STATUTE/REGULATION CITATION:	7. FEDERAL BUDGET IMPACT: (in	thousands)
§1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(IX) 42 CFR 435.150	a. FFY 06/30/17-09/30/17 \$ 0	
	b. FFY 10/01/17-09/30/18 \$ 0	
8. PAGE NUMBER OF THE PLAN SECTION OR ATTACHMENT:	9. PAGE NUMBER OF THE SUPERS	EDED PLAN
	SECTION OR ATTACHMENT (If Ap	A STATE OF THE STA
PDFs: S33	one in the internal in the int	onedore).
1513. 333		
10. SUBJECT OF AMENDMENT:		
MAGI-Based Eligibility Groups		
mior busta bilgionity Groups		
11. GOVERNOR'S REVIEW (Check One):		
☐ GOVERNOR'S OFFICE REPORTED NO COMMENT	OTHER, AS SPEC	CIFIED:
COMMENTS OF GOVERNOR'S OFFICE ENCLOSED		
☐ NO REPLY RECEIVED WITHIN 45 DAYS OF SUBMITTAL		
THE RELEASED WITHIN 43 DATS OF SOBIMITIAL		
12. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL:	16. RETURN TO:	
12. SIGNATURE OF STATE AGENCY OFFICIAL.	The first of the control of the cont	
	New York State Department of Healt	
13. TYPED NAME: Jason A. Helgerson	Bureau of Federal Relations & Provi	
	99 Washington Ave - One Commerce	e Plaza
14. TITLE: Medicaid Director	Suite 1430	
Department of Health	Albany, NY 12210	
15. DATE SUBMITTED:	-	
May 18, 2017 -		
	CR VCR CAVA	
FOR REGIONAL OFFIC		
17. DATE RECEIVED:	18. DATE APPROVED:	
	F	
PLAN APPROVED – ONE C	COPY ATTACHED	
19. EFFECTIVE DATE OF APPROVED MATERIAL:	20. SIGNATURE OF REGIONAL OF	FICIAL:
		220222200
21. TYPED NAME:	22. TITLE:	
21. I II ED IVANIE.	ZZ. IIIDD.	
23. REMARKS:		
23. REMARKS:		

Appendix I 2017 Title XIX State Plan Second Quarter Amendment Amended SPA Pages



Medicaid Eligibility

Transmittal Number: NY - 17 - 0048 Eligibility Groups - Mandatory Coverage Former Foster Care Children 42 CFR 435.150	State Name: New York	OMB Control Number: 0938-114
### Ass. 150 Pormer Foster Care Children - Individuals under the age of 26, not otherwise mandatorily eligible, who were on Medicaid and in foster care when they turned age 18 or aged out of foster care. The state attests that it operates this eligibility group under the following provisions: Individuals qualifying under this eligibility group must meet the following criteria: Are not otherwise eligible for and enrolled for mandatory coverage under the state plan, except that eligibility under this group takes precedence over eligibility under the Adult Group. Were in foster care under the responsibility of the state or Tribe and were enrolled in Medicaid under the state's state plan or 1115 demonstration when they turned 18 or at the time of aging out of that state's or Tribe's foster care program. The state elects to cover children who were in foster care and on Medicaid in any state at the time they turned 18 or aged out of the foster care system. (*Yes** No** No** The state covers individuals under this group when determined presumptively eligible by a qualified entity. The state assures it also covers individuals under the Pregnant Women (42 CFR 435.116) and/or Infants and Children under Age 19 (42 CFR 435.118) eligibility groups when determined presumptively eligible. (*Yes** No** The presumptive period begins on the date the determination is made. The end date of the presumptive period is the earlier of: The date the eligibility determination for regular Medicaid is made, if an application for Medicaid is filed by the last day of the month following the month in which the determination of presumptive eligibility is made, if no application for Medicaid is filed by that date. Periods of presumptive eligibility are limited as follows: No more than one period within a calendar year. No more than one period within a calendar years. No more than one period within a twelve-month period, starting with the effective date of the initial presumptive eligibility period.	Transmittal Number: NY - 17 - 0048	
Former Foster Care Children - Individuals under the age of 26, not otherwise mandatorily eligible, who were on Medicaid and in foster care when they turned age 18 or aged out of foster care. The state attests that it operates this eligibility group under the following provisions: Individuals qualifying under this eligibility group must meet the following criteria: Are under age 26. Are not otherwise eligible for and enrolled for mandatory coverage under the state plan, except that eligibility under this group takes precedence over eligibility under the Adult Group. Were in foster care under the responsibility of the state or Tribe and were enrolled in Medicaid under the state's state plan or 1115 demonstration when they turned 18 or at the time of aging out of that state's or Tribe's foster care program. The state elects to cover children who were in foster care and on Medicaid in any state at the time they turned 18 or aged out of the foster care system. Yes No The state covers individuals under this group when determined presumptively eligible by a qualified entity. The state assures it also covers individuals under the Pregnant Women (42 CFR 435.116) and/or Infants and Children under Age 19 (42 CFR 435.118) eligibility groups when determined presumptively eligible. Yes No The presumptive period begins on the date the determination is made. The presumptive period begins on the date the determination is made. The ata the eligibility determination for regular Medicaid is made, if an application for Medicaid is filed by the last day of the month following the month in which the determination of presumptive eligibility is made, if no application for Medicaid is filed by that date. Periods of presumptive eligibility are limited as follows: No more than one period within a calendar year. No more than one period within a twelve-month period, starting with the effective date of the initial presumptive eligibility period.	Eligibility Groups - Mandatory Coverage Former Foster Care Children	S3.
In foster care when they turned age 18 or aged out of foster care. ✓ The state attests that it operates this eligibility group under the following provisions: ■ Individuals qualifying under this eligibility group must meet the following criteria: ■ Are under age 26. ■ Are not otherwise eligible for and enrolled for mandatory coverage under the state plan, except that eligibility under this group takes precedence over eligibility under the Adult Group. Were in foster care under the responsibility of the state or Tribe and were enrolled in Medicaid under the state's state ■ plan or 1115 demonstration when they turned 18 or at the time of aging out of that state's or Tribe's foster care program. The state elects to cover children who were in foster care and on Medicaid in any state at the time they turned 18 or aged out of the foster care system. ✓ Yes No The state covers individuals under this group when determined presumptively eligible by a qualified entity. The state assures it also covers individuals under the Pregnant Women (42 CFR 435.116) and/or Infants and Children under Age 19 (42 CFR 435.118) eligibility groups when determined presumptively eligible. ✓ Yes No ■ The presumptive period begins on the date the determination is made. ■ The end date of the presumptive period is the carlier of: The date the eligibility determination for regular Medicaid is made, if an application for Medicaid is filed by the last day of the month following the month in which the determination of presumptive eligibility is made; or The last day of the month following the month in which the determination of presumptive eligibility is made; if no application for Medicaid is filed by that date. ■ Periods of presumptive eligibility are limited as follows: ✓ No more than one period within a calendar years. ✓ No more than one period within a twelve-month period, starting with the effective date of the initial presumptive eligibility period.	42 CFR 435.150 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(IX)	
 ■ Individuals qualifying under this eligibility group must meet the following criteria: ■ Are under age 26. ■ Are not otherwise eligible for and enrolled for mandatory coverage under the state plan, except that eligibility under this group takes precedence over eligibility under the Adult Group. Were in foster care under the responsibility of the state or Tribe and were enrolled in Medicaid under the state's state ■ plan or 1115 demonstration when they turned 18 or at the time of aging out of that state's or Tribe's foster care program. The state elects to cover children who were in foster care and on Medicaid in any state at the time they turned 18 or aged out of the foster care system. C Yes No The state covers individuals under this group when determined presumptively eligible by a qualified entity. The state assures it also covers individuals under the Pregnant Women (42 CFR 435.116) and/or Infants and Children under Age 19 (42 CFR 435.118) eligibility groups when determined presumptively eligible. C Yes No ■ The presumptive period begins on the date the determination is made. ■ The end date of the presumptive period is the earlier of: The date the eligibility determination for regular Medicaid is made, if an application for Medicaid is filed by the last day of the month following the month in which the determination of presumptive eligibility is made; or The last day of the month following the month in which the determination of presumptive eligibility is made, if no application for Medicaid is filed by that date. ■ Periods of presumptive eligibility are limited as follows: No more than one period within a calendar year. No more than one period within two calendar years. No more than one period within a twelve-month period, starting with the effective date of the	Former Foster Care Children - Individuals under the a in foster care when they turned age 18 or aged out of fos	ge of 26, not otherwise mandatorily eligible, who were on Medicaid and ter care.
 ■ Are under age 26. ■ Are not otherwise eligible for and enrolled for mandatory coverage under the state plan, except that eligibility under this group takes precedence over eligibility under the Adult Group. Were in foster care under the responsibility of the state or Tribe and were enrolled in Medicaid under the state's state ■ plan or 1115 demonstration when they turned 18 or at the time of aging out of that state's or Tribe's foster care program. The state elects to cover children who were in foster care and on Medicaid in any state at the time they turned 18 or aged out of the foster care system. C Yes No The state covers individuals under this group when determined presumptively eligible by a qualified entity. The state assures it also covers individuals under the Pregnant Women (42 CFR 435.116) and/or Infants and Children under Age 19 (42 CFR 435.118) eligibility groups when determined presumptively eligible. C Yes No ■ The presumptive period begins on the date the determination is made. ■ The end date of the presumptive period is the earlier of: The date the eligibility determination for regular Medicaid is made, if an application for Medicaid is filed by the last day of the month following the month in which the determination of presumptive eligibility is made; or The last day of the month following the month in which the determination of presumptive eligibility is made, if no application for Medicaid is filed by that date. ■ Periods of presumptive eligibility are limited as follows: No more than one period within a calendar year. No more than one period within two calendar years. No more than one period within two calendar years. 	✓ The state attests that it operates this eligibility group	under the following provisions:
Are not otherwise eligible for and enrolled for mandatory coverage under the state plan, except that eligibility under this group takes precedence over eligibility under the Adult Group. Were in foster care under the responsibility of the state or Tribe and were enrolled in Medicaid under the state's state plan or 1115 demonstration when they turned 18 or at the time of aging out of that state's or Tribe's foster care program. The state elects to cover children who were in foster care and on Medicaid in any state at the time they turned 18 or aged out of the foster care system. Yes No The state covers individuals under this group when determined presumptively eligible by a qualified entity. The state assures it also covers individuals under the Pregnant Women (42 CFR 435.116) and/or Infants and Children under Age 19 (42 CFR 435.118) eligibility groups when determined presumptively eligible. Yes No The presumptive period begins on the date the determination is made. The end date of the presumptive period is the earlier of: The date the eligibility determination for regular Medicaid is made, if an application for Medicaid is filed by the last day of the month following the month in which the determination of presumptive eligibility is made; or The last day of the month following the month in which the determination of presumptive eligibility is made, if no application for Medicaid is filed by that date. Periods of presumptive eligibility are limited as follows: No more than one period within a calendar year. No more than one period within a twelve-month period, starting with the effective date of the initial presumptive eligibility period.	Individuals qualifying under this eligibility gro	up must meet the following criteria:
Were in foster care under the responsibility of the state or Tribe and were enrolled in Medicaid under the state's state plan or 1115 demonstration when they turned 18 or at the time of aging out of that state's or Tribe's foster care program. The state elects to cover children who were in foster care and on Medicaid in any state at the time they turned 18 or aged out of the foster care system. Yes No The state covers individuals under this group when determined presumptively eligible by a qualified entity. The state assures it also covers individuals under the Pregnant Women (42 CFR 435.116) and/or Infants and Children under Age 19 (42 CFR 435.118) eligibility groups when determined presumptively eligible. Yes No The presumptive period begins on the date the determination is made. The end date of the presumptive period is the earlier of: The date the eligibility determination for regular Medicaid is made, if an application for Medicaid is filed by the last day of the month following the month in which the determination of presumptive eligibility is made; or The last day of the month following the month in which the determination of presumptive eligibility is made, if no application for Medicaid is filed by that date. Periods of presumptive eligibility are limited as follows: No more than one period within a calendar year. No more than one period within a twelve-month period, starting with the effective date of the initial presumptive eligibility period.	Are under age 26.	
 ■ plan or 1115 demonstration when they turned 18 or at the time of aging out of that state's or Tribe's foster care program. The state elects to cover children who were in foster care and on Medicaid in any state at the time they turned 18 or aged out of the foster care system. Yes	Are not otherwise eligible for and enrolled this group takes precedence over eligibility	for mandatory coverage under the state plan, except that eligibility under under the Adult Group.
aged out of the foster care system. Yes No The state covers individuals under this group when determined presumptively eligible by a qualified entity. The state assures it also covers individuals under the Pregnant Women (42 CFR 435.116) and/or Infants and Children under Age 19 (42 CFR 435.118) eligibility groups when determined presumptively eligible. Yes No The presumptive period begins on the date the determination is made. The end date of the presumptive period is the earlier of: The date the eligibility determination for regular Medicaid is made, if an application for Medicaid is filed by the last day of the month following the month in which the determination of presumptive eligibility is made; or The last day of the month following the month in which the determination of presumptive eligibility is made, if no application for Medicaid is filed by that date. Periods of presumptive eligibility are limited as follows: No more than one period within a calendar year. No more than one period within a twelve-month period, starting with the effective date of the initial presumptive eligibility period.	plan or 1115 demonstration when they turned	of the state or Tribe and were enrolled in Medicaid under the state's state ed 18 or at the time of aging out of that state's or Tribe's foster care
The state covers individuals under this group when determined presumptively eligible by a qualified entity. The state assures it also covers individuals under the Pregnant Women (42 CFR 435.116) and/or Infants and Children under Age 19 (42 CFR 435.118) eligibility groups when determined presumptively eligible. (Yes No The presumptive period begins on the date the determination is made. The end date of the presumptive period is the earlier of: The date the eligibility determination for regular Medicaid is made, if an application for Medicaid is filed by the last day of the month following the month in which the determination of presumptive eligibility is made; or The last day of the month following the month in which the determination of presumptive eligibility is made, if no application for Medicaid is filed by that date. Periods of presumptive eligibility are limited as follows: No more than one period within a calendar year. No more than one period within two calendar years.	The state elects to cover children who were aged out of the foster care system.	e in foster care and on Medicaid in <u>any</u> state at the time they turned 18 or
it also covers individuals under the Pregnant Women (42 CFR 435.116) and/or Infants and Children under Age 19 (42 CFR 435.118) eligibility groups when determined presumptively eligible. (Yes No The presumptive period begins on the date the determination is made. The end date of the presumptive period is the earlier of: The date the eligibility determination for regular Medicaid is made, if an application for Medicaid is filed by the last day of the month following the month in which the determination of presumptive eligibility is made; or The last day of the month following the month in which the determination of presumptive eligibility is made, if no application for Medicaid is filed by that date. Periods of presumptive eligibility are limited as follows: No more than one period within a calendar year. No more than one period within two calendar years.	← Yes	
 The presumptive period begins on the date the determination is made. The end date of the presumptive period is the earlier of: The date the eligibility determination for regular Medicaid is made, if an application for Medicaid is filed by the last day of the month following the month in which the determination of presumptive eligibility is made; or The last day of the month following the month in which the determination of presumptive eligibility is made, if no application for Medicaid is filed by that date. Periods of presumptive eligibility are limited as follows: No more than one period within a calendar year. No more than one period within a twelve-month period, starting with the effective date of the initial presumptive eligibility period. 	it also covers individuals under the Pregnant Wome	n (42 CFR 435.116) and/or Infants and Children under Age 19 (42 CFR
 The end date of the presumptive period is the earlier of: The date the eligibility determination for regular Medicaid is made, if an application for Medicaid is filed by the last day of the month following the month in which the determination of presumptive eligibility is made; or The last day of the month following the month in which the determination of presumptive eligibility is made, if no application for Medicaid is filed by that date. Periods of presumptive eligibility are limited as follows: No more than one period within a calendar year. No more than one period within a twelve-month period, starting with the effective date of the initial presumptive eligibility period. 	← Yes ← No	
The date the eligibility determination for regular Medicaid is made, if an application for Medicaid is filed by the last day of the month following the month in which the determination of presumptive eligibility is made; or The last day of the month following the month in which the determination of presumptive eligibility is made, if no application for Medicaid is filed by that date. Periods of presumptive eligibility are limited as follows: No more than one period within a calendar year. No more than one period within two calendar years. No more than one period within a twelve-month period, starting with the effective date of the initial presumptive eligibility period.	■ The presumptive period begins on the date t	he determination is made.
the last day of the month following the month in which the determination of presumptive eligibility is made; or The last day of the month following the month in which the determination of presumptive eligibility is made, if no application for Medicaid is filed by that date. Periods of presumptive eligibility are limited as follows: No more than one period within a calendar year. No more than one period within two calendar years. No more than one period within a twelve-month period, starting with the effective date of the initial presumptive eligibility period.	■ The end date of the presumptive period is the	he earlier of:
if no application for Medicaid is filed by that date. Periods of presumptive eligibility are limited as follows: No more than one period within a calendar year. No more than one period within two calendar years. No more than one period within a twelve-month period, starting with the effective date of the initial presumptive eligibility period.	the last day of the month following the mon	
No more than one period within a calendar year. No more than one period within two calendar years. No more than one period within a twelve-month period, starting with the effective date of the initial presumptive eligibility period.		
No more than one period within two calendar years. No more than one period within a twelve-month period, starting with the effective date of the initial presumptive eligibility period.	Periods of presumptive eligibility are limited	rd as follows:
No more than one period within a twelve-month period, starting with the effective date of the initial presumptive eligibility period.	No more than one period within a caler	dar year.
presumptive eligibility period.	No more than one period within two ca	lendar years.
C Other reasonable limitation:	No more than one period within a twelve presumptive eligibility period.	ve-month period, starting with the effective date of the initial
	Other reasonable limitation:	



Medicaid Eligibility

	Name of limitation	Description	
Ŀ	+		X
The state i	equires that a written application be significant	gned by the applicant or representative.	h+====================================
	○ No		
← Th	e state uses a single application form fe	or Medicaid and presumptive eligibility, approved by CMS.	
\bigcap_{ap}^{Th}	e state uses a separate application form plication form is included.	for presumptive eligibility, approved by CMS. A copy of the	
	An attachmen	t is submitted.	
■ The pr	esumptive eligibility determination is b	pased on the following factors:	
Th	e individual must meet the categorical	requirements of 42 CFR 435.150.	
☐ St	ate residency		
☐ Ci	tizenship, status as a national, or satisfa	actory immigration status	
this eli	gibility group.	section 1920A of the Act, to determine eligibility presumptive	ly for
List of Q	ualified Entities	S17	
eligibil meets a	ity determinations based on an individu	ed by the agency to be capable of making presumptive all's household income and other requirements, and that ats. Select one or more of the following types of entities his eligibility group:	
☐ Furn	hishes health care items or services covigible to receive payments under the pl	ered under the state's approved Medicaid state plan and an	
	athorized to determine a child's eligibil d Start Act	ity to participate in a Head Start program under the	
		ity to receive child care services for which financial and Development Block Grant Act of 1990	
	d Program for Women, Infants and Chi	ity to receive assistance under the Special Supplemental ldren (WIC) under section 17 of the Child Nutrition Act	
	athorized to determine a child's eligibil stance under the Children's Health Insu	ty under the Medicaid state plan or for child health rance Program (CHIP)	
	elementary or secondary school, as decation Act of 1965 (20 U.S.C. 8801)	fined in section 14101 of the Elementary and Secondary	
☐ Is an	elementary or secondary school opera	ted or supported by the Bureau of Indian Affairs	
	state or Tribal child support enforceme	50 15 1	
	organization that provides emergency Linney Homeless Assistance Act	food and shelter under a grant under the Stewart B.	



Medicaid Eligibility

of publ	ic or assisted housing that receives Fede ection of the United States Housing Act	r any assistance or benefits provided under eral funds, including the program under sect of 1937 (42 U.S.C. 1437) or under the Nati ination Act of 1996 (25 U.S.C. 4101 et seq	tion 8 or any
☐ Is a hea		h Service, a Tribe, or Tribal organization, o	L. P.
Other e	ntity the agency determines is capable of	of making presumptive eligibility determina	tions:
	Name of entity	Description	
+			X
9			
Thora	tate assures that it has communicated the	e requirements for qualified entities, at 1920	0A(b)(3) of

PRA Disclosure Statement

According to the Paperwork Reduction Act of 1995, no persons are required to respond to a collection of information unless it displays a valid OMB control number. The valid OMB control number for this information collection is 0938-1148. The time required to complete this information collection is estimated to average 40 hours per response, including the time to review instructions, search existing data resources, gather the data needed, and complete and review the information collection. If you have comments concerning the accuracy of the time estimate(s) or suggestions for improving this form, please write to: CMS, 7500 Security Boulevard, Attn: PRA Reports Clearance Officer, Mail Stop C4-26-05, Baltimore, Maryland 21244-1850.

V.20160722

Appendix II 2017 Title XIX State Plan Second Quarter Amendment Summary

SUMMARY SPA #17-0048

This State Plan Amendment proposes to deselect individuals under age 26 who were in foster care and receiving Medicaid either when they turned 18 or when they aged out of foster care if at a higher age in another state.