
Please submit the following items: 

1.) A completed application.  Incomplete applications will be returned.

2.) A check or money order made payable to New York State Department of Health in the amount of $120.00. 

3.) Proof of having passed the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) examination and/or

the Nuclear Medicine Technology Certification Board (NMTCB). An applicant may provide proof by 
submitting a copy of any one of the following documents: 

 ARRT or NMTCB certificate

 Current wallet card

 Passing examination score of 75 or higher

4.) Submit a copy of school certificate/diploma or transcript. If the date of graduation was more than ten 
years ago, then submit a resume that clearly shows employment as a radiologic technologist. Applicants 
with training in the Armed Forces are directed  to  submit a copy of discharge papers (DD214) and a school 
certificate showing graduation from a radiologic technology program as listed below: 

Military Branch Required Forms Type of Endorsement    
Air Force STTC Forms  Final Endorsement 

Army Diploma Endorsement of Program Director 

Navy NEC-8452 Certificate Endorsement of Program Director 

6.) Applicants who are licensed by a state that uses the ARRT examination as the state licensing examination
must also submit a copy of their state license. Applicants who are licensed by a state that does not use the 

ARRT examination, must first obtain ARRT certification before applying to New York State.

• If your license or school documentation is in a different name, please include a copy of Legal proof of
name change such as a marriage certificate or divorce decree.

• Section 5 of the NYS Tax Law requires that the NYS DOH record the social security number or
taxpayer ID for any person to whom a license is issued. Your application will not be processed unless a
valid social security number or taxpayer ID is listed in Item 1 of the form.

• If you need to apply to the ARRT, please contact them directly:
American Registry of Radiologic Technologists
1225 Northland Drive
St. Paul, MN 55120-1155
651-687-0048
www.arrt.org

 N O T E S

5.) All supporting documentation required for submission. The specifics are clearly communicated in the form.
This includes any documentation related to criminal convictions.

Instructions for completing the Application for 
New York State Radiologic Technologist Licensure



New York State Department of Health 
Bureau of Environmental Radiation Protection 
Corning Tower - Empire State Plaza 
12th Floor 
Albany, NY 12237
518-402-7580  |  berp@health.ny.gov

Applicant Information 

Make check payable to New York State Department of Health in the amount of $120.00. 

 Radiography        Therapy          Nuclear Medicine 

 Male           Female 

Type of License (check only one option):

1.)  Social Security Number 

3.)  Last Name
 2.)  Gender       

First Name M.I.

4.)  Mailing Address |  Number, Street, Apartment Number 

City              State        Zip Code

5.)  Date of Birth 6.)  County of Residence 

    Year  

_ _         _ 
Business/Cell Phone 

Education 

Yes No 9.) Do you have a certificate from the American Registry of Radiologic Technologist 
(ARRT) or the Nuclear Medicine Technology Certification Board (NMTCB)? 

If yes, please attach proof of certification.

10.) Have you successfully completed an accredited course of study in Radiologic Technology?      Yes No 

If you expect to complete a course within three months, you may answer yes.

Name and address of school: Dates attended (Month/Year) 

From To 

Include a copy of your diploma or transcript. If you completed this course over ten years ago, attach a resume

of your experience since graduation. 
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Application for 
Radiologic Technologist 

Licensure 

_ 

      Month     Day 

7.)  Phone Number 

8.)  Email
Primary/Home Phone



 Convictions 
A conviction is not an automatic bar to licensure.  Each case is considered on its individual merits. 

11.) Except for minor traffic violations and adjudication as a youthful offender, wayward minor, or juvenile 
delinquent, have you ever been convicted of one or more criminal offenses involving a threat or use of physical 
violence, sexual behavior, illegal possession or the use of drugs, theft or fraud, or received an other than honorable 
discharge from the armed services?  Yes   No

If yes, please provide details for all charges. Include copies of all documents from the court including Certificate 
of Disposition, Certificate of Relief from Disabilities or Certificate of Good Conduct.

 Child Support Statement 
You must complete this section. If you do not complete it, your application will be returned. 

12.) Everyone applying for a professional license, permit, or registration, or any renewal thereof, must file a 
written statement that, as of the date of the filing, she or he is, or is not, under an obligation to pay child support*.

Individuals who are four months or more in arrears in child support or who have failed to comply with a summons, 
subpoena or warrant relating to a paternity or child support proceeding may be subject to suspension of their 
business, professional, drivers and/or recreational licenses and permits. The intentional submission of false written 
statements for the purpose of frustrating or defeating the lawful enforcement of support obligations is punishable 
under section 175.35 of the Penal Law. 

You must complete this section before we can issue the credential for which you have applied. Individuals who are 
not in compliance with their obligation to pay child support can be issued a credential for no more than six months 
in order to comply with their child support obligations. 

A.

B.

I am making payments by income execution or by court agreed payment plan or by a plan agreed to by the parties. 

The child support obligation is the subject of a pending court proceeding.

I am receiving public assistance or supplemental security income.

None of the above four statements apply.

I declare, subject to the penalties for perjury, that the statements made herein and on the accompanying 

documents have been examined by me and to the best of my knowledge are true and correct. I further understand 

that a false statement knowingly made by me may be the cause for suspension or revocation of any license 

issued pursuant to this application and for criminal prosecution and punishment. 

Date Signature of Applicant Previous Name (if any) 
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Declaration - Your application will not be processed without an original signature below. 

I am not under obligation to pay child support.

I am under obligation to pay child support, and ... (please check only one of the following options) 

 I am current and am not four months or more in arrears in the payment of child support.

*New York State General Obligations Law, Section 3-503
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